Virginia Penalty for Class 1 Misdemeanor

Virginia jurisdiction is relatively strict when it comes to law offenses. The jurisdiction system of Virginia has classified the criminal acts as felonies and misdemeanors.

Definition of the Felonies and Misdemeanors

According to the Democratic lawmakers of Virginia, Felonies are serious crimes such as manslaughter or first-degree murder, animal slaughter, large-scale burglary or fraud, tax evasion, computer-based crimes and sexual assault.

On the contrary, Misdemeanor is defined as a less serious criminal activity than a felony. These law offenses that are categorized as Misdemeanor includes small-scale theft, assault, and battery, domestic violence, traffic offenses, such as speedy driving, driving under the influence of narcotics or alcohol, possession of controlled substances, possession of unlicensed weapons and trespassing.

Classification of Misdemeanors

The Democratic lawmakers of Virginia classified Misdemeanor in classes 1 to 4.

  • Class 1 Misdemeanor: Virginia Penalty for Class 1 Misdemeanor comprises of a jail sentence for up to 12 months as well as a payable fine of amount $2500 and can be both.
  • Class 2 Misdemeanor: Virginia Penalty for Class 2 Misdemeanor is six months of imprisonment in state jail and fine of amount $1000.
  • Class 3 Misdemeanor: Virginia Penalty for Class 2 Misdemeanor included fine of $500 with or without imprisonment.
  • Class 4 Misdemeanor: Virginia Penalty for Class 4 Misdemeanor enclosed payable fine of about $250.

Class 1 Misdemeanor

As mentioned earlier Class 1 Misdemeanor are those criminal offenses for which Virginia Penalty for Class 1 Misdemeanor is jail sentence not more than 12 months, payment of $2500 as fine or both jail confinement and fine. These criminal activities include reckless driving, driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substance, theft, and physical violence.

Traffic offenes: Traffic offenes accounts for speedy driving (over 80 miles per hour or as per given speed limit), or driving with suspended license and most importantly driving subsequently drug or alcohol consumption (where the blood alcohol level is above 0.08%).

Theft: This includes Petit larceny and shoplifting of value within the range of $50-$200.

Physical violence: The act of physically hurting fellow citizens that is assault and exhibiting offensive behavior towards the family members, peers, friends or relatives including mental or physical distress accounts for domestic violence.

In this context, any individual who is found associated directly or indirectly in the criminal act will plead guilty and thereby convicted with adequate Misdemeanors. However, if a person is repeatedly involved in Misdemeanors even after jail confinement and fine payment. He could be convicted ofe a felony. Furthermore, there are serious consequences of being convicted  Misdemeanors or felonies. These consequences include creation of the permanent criminal record. This has secondary effects on the lives of the convicted person particularly loss of driving opportunity (if involved in traffic offenes repeatedly), loss of social status, deprived of educational and occupational opportunities as well as security clearance. Under such circumstances, if you are charged with Class 1 Misdemeanor you can make a smart choice and seek consultation with  an experienced attorney, who can help you with the Misdemeanor charges and penalties.